Skip Navigation

College Art Association
rss Twitter Facebook You Tube flickr instagram


Art Journal Award

Established in 2000, the Art Journal Award is presented to the author of the most distinguished contribution—article, interview, conversation, portfolio, review, or any other text or visual project—published in Art Journal during the previous calendar year (2013 for the 2014 award).

2015 Winner

Anna Chave’s essay “Grave Matters: Positioning Carl Andre at Career’s End,” published in the Winter 2014 issue of Art Journal, carefully and courageously revisits the matter of Carl Andre’s art production and its reception, on the occasion of the artist’s 2014 full-career retrospective at Dia:Beacon. In this exhaustively researched and compellingly argued account—against the ambitions of the institution that sponsored it—Chave deftly negotiates the historical and anecdotal record regarding the death of Andre’s wife, Ana Mendieta, as well as the author’s own now-historical analyses of the gendered power manifest in the project of Minimalist sculpture. Chave does so in order to make eloquent claims about the continued importance of “enunciat(ing) feminist speech” in an age when the authority ascribed juridical oversight of the social body is matched only by the prejudiced distortions of its purview. “Grave Matters” serves as both methodological and analytical inspiration: generations of art historians still-in-the-making will find in it a productive demonstration of deep research, unflinching and honest self-reflection, critical analysis of art-world histories and public traumas, and trenchant political commitment.

Jury: Hannah Feldman, Northwestern University, chair; Joanna Grabski, Denison University; and Janet Kaplan, Moore College of Art and Design.

Past Winners

The Art Journal Award was first presented in 2001 to Miwon Kwon for her article “The Wrong Place,” originally written to accompany an exhibition at the Ottawa Art Gallery. In addition to numerous art historians, the award has also been given to a curator (Nato Thompson, 2005) and an artist (Simon Leung, 2008).

Read a list of all winners of the Art Journal Award from 2001 to the present.

Award Nominations

CAA has begun accepting nominations for the 2016 awards. Please review the guidelines to familiarize yourself with the nomination process and to download, complete, and submit the requested materials. Deadline: July 31, 2015, for the Charles Rufus Morey Book Award, the Alfred H. Barr Jr. Awards, and the Frank Jewett Mather Award; August 31, 2015, for all others.

Privacy Policy | Refund Policy

Copyright © 2016 College Art Association.

50 Broadway, 21st Floor, New York, NY 10004 | T: 212-691-1051 | F: 212-627-2381 | nyoffice@collegeart.org

The College Art Association: advancing the history, interpretation, and practice of the visual arts for over a century.