CAA News Today

CIHA Travel Grants for Graduate Students in Art History

posted by Christopher Howard — Feb 08, 2012

The National Committee for the History of Art (NCHA) has awarded travel grants to fourteen PhD students at American universities to attend the thirty-third congress of the International Committee of the History of Art (Comité International d’Histoire de l’Art, or CIHA), taking place July 15–20, 2012, in Nuremberg, Germany. Each student’s department will match the NCHA funds. Nominated by their departments, the students were selected from among a much larger group of highly competitive nominees.

The NCHA grant recipients are:

  • Krysta Black, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Brianne Cohen, University of Pittsburgh*
  • Jennifer Cohen, University of Chicago*
  • Dana Cowen, Case Western Reserve University*
  • Jill Holaday, University of Iowa*
  • Elizabeth Kassler-Taub, Harvard University
  • Anna Kim, University of Virginia
  • Laine Little, State University of New York, Binghamton
  • Jennifer A. Morris, Princeton University*
  • Turkan Pilavci, Columbia University
  • Stephanie E. Rozman, University of Minnesota*
  • Erin Sullivan, University of Southern California*
  • John A. Tyson, Emory University
  • Maureen Warren, Northwestern University

The asterisk (*) indicates a current CAA member.

NCHA is the American affiliate of the international community of art historians. Two representatives from CAA, usually the past presidents from the Board of Directors, are NCHA individual members. Both NCHA and CIHA aim to foster intellectual exchange among scholars, teachers, students, and others interested in art history broadly conceived as encompassing art, architecture, and visual culture across geographical boundaries and throughout history. Through the organization of scholarly conferences of varying size and scope, NCHA and CIHA promote the communication, dissemination, and exchange of knowledge and information about art history and related fields, ultimately seeking to promote a global community of art historians.