CAA News Today

New Members and Officers at the May Board Meeting

posted by Christopher Howard — Apr 30, 2012

Newly elected members and officers of the CAA Board of Directors will join the governing body at its spring meeting, to be held on Sunday, May 6, 2012. Charged with CAA’s long-term financial stability and strategic direction, the board sets policy regarding all aspects of the organization’s activities, including publishing, the Annual Conference, awards and fellowships, advocacy, and committee procedures.

New Directors

The board welcomes four new members, who will serve from 2012 to 2016:

  • Suzanne Preston Blier, professor in History of Art and Architecture and the African and African American Studies Departments at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Stephanie D’Alessandro, curator of modern art at the Art Institute of Chicago in Illinois
  • Gail Feigenbaum, associate director of the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles, California
  • Charles A. Wright, artist and chair of the Department of Art at Western Illinois University in Macomb

New President

Anne Collins Goodyear, assistant curator of prints and drawings at the National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, in Washington DC, will serve as the organization’s next president for a two-year term, beginning May 2012.

New Officers

At its February 2012 meeting, the board elected new officers—four vice presidents and a secretary—from among its members to serve one-year terms, from May 2012 to April 2013.

  • Patricia McDonnell, director of the Ulrich Museum of Art at Wichita State University in Kansas, has been reelected for a second term as vice president for external affairs
  • DeWitt Godfrey, an artist and associate professor of art and art history at Colgate University in Hamilton, New York, was elected vice president for committees. Last year he served as board secretary
  • Jacqueline Francis, professor of art history at California College of the Arts in San Francisco, has been named vice president for Annual Conference
  • Randall C. Griffin, professor of art history at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, has been reelected vice president for publications to serve a second term
  • Maria Ann Conelli, dean of the School of Visual, Media, and Performing Arts at Brooklyn College, City University of New York, has been elected secretary. She had spent the previous year as vice president for committees

CAA will publish a report on the spring board meeting later this month.