CAA News Today

New Members of CAA Committees

posted by Christopher Howard — Feb 06, 2013

CAA’s nine Professional Interests, Practices, and Standards Committees welcome their newly appointed members, who will serve three-year terms (2013–16). In addition, five new chairs will take over committee leadership, and several members of the CAA Board of Directors assume liaison posts. New committee members, chairs, and board liaisons will begin their terms at the 101st Annual Conference, to be held February 13–16, 2013, in New York. CAA warmly thanks all outgoing committee members for their years of service to the organization.

A call for nominations for these committees appears annually from July to September in CAA News and on the CAA website. CAA’s president, vice president for committees, and executive director review all nominations in November and make appointments that take effect the following February. CAA’s vice president for committees, DeWitt Godfrey of Colgate University, is an ex officio member of all nine groups.

New Committee Members, Chairs, and Board Liaisons

Committee on Diversity Practices: Julie L. McGee, University of Delaware; and Staci Scheiwiller, California State University, Stanislaus. The new board liaison is Leslie Bellavance of Alfred University, and the new committee chair is Susan D. Zurbrigg from James Madison University, replacing Kevin Concannon of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Committee on Intellectual Property: Kenneth Cavalier, University of British Columbia; Anne Norcross, Ferris State University; and Cynthia Underwood, United States Patent and Trademark Office. A new board liaison to the committee is Suzanne Preston Blier of Harvard University.

Committee on Women in the Arts: Rocío Aranda-Alvarado, El Museo del Barrio; Jonathan D. Katz, University at Buffalo, State University of New York; and Neysa Page-Lieberman, Columbia College Chicago. The new chair is Claudia Sbrissa of St. John’s University, taking over from Maria Elena Buszek of the University of Colorado in Denver.

Education Committee: Kirsten Ataoguz, Indiana University–Purdue University, Fort Wayne; Leda Cempellin, South Dakota State University; and Bertha Gutman, Delaware County Community College. After serving three years as committee chair, Rosanne Gibel of the Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale will be succeeded by Julia A. Sienkewicz of Duquesne University.

International Committee: Francesca Fiorani, University of Virginia; Federico Freschi, University of Johannesburg; Annelise Jarvis-Hansen, independent artist, Copenhagen; and Valérie Rousseau, American Folk Art Museum. Gail Feigenbaum of the Getty Research Institute joins the committee as board liaison.

Museum Committee: Jeffrey Abt, Wayne State University; Joseph Becherer, Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park; Makeda Best, University of Vermont; and Tracy Fitzpatrick, Neuberger Museum of Art, Purchase College, State University of New York. The new committee chair is N. Elizabeth Schlatter of the University of Richmond Museums, who takes over from Karol A. Lawson of Sweet Briar College.

Professional Practices Committee: Thomas Berding, Michigan State University; Virginia Maksymowicz, Franklin and Marshall College; and Jonathan F. Walz, Rollins College.

Services to Artists Committee: Michelle Grabner, School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Jenny Marketou, independent artist, New York; Martha Schwendener, critic, Brooklyn; and Molly Zuckerman-Hartung, artist, Chicago.

Student and Emerging Professionals Committee: Jacquelyn N. Coutré, Adelphi University; Lauren Grace Kilroy, Brooklyn College, City University of New York; Carolyn Jean Martin, San Francisco Art Institute; and John Douglas Powers, University of Alabama, Birmingham. Megan Koza Mitchell-Young of the Dishman Art Museum at Lamar University succeeds Jennifer Stoneking-Stewart of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, as chair.