CAA News Today

Finalists for the 2018 Morey and Barr Awards

posted by CAA — Nov 14, 2017

CAA is pleased to announce the 2018 finalists for the Charles Rufus Morey Book Award and two Alfred H. Barr Jr. Awards. The winners of the three prizes, along with the recipients of other Awards for Distinction, will be announced in January 2018 and presented during Convocation in conjunction with CAA’s 106th Annual Conference, taking place in Los Angeles, February 21-24, 2018.

Charles Rufus Morey Book Award

The Charles Rufus Morey Book Award honors an especially distinguished book in the history of art, published in any language between September 1, 2016, and August 31, 2017. The four finalists for 2018 are:

Benjamin Anderson, Cosmos and Community in Early Medieval Art (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2017)

Susanna Berger, The Art of Philosophy: Visual Thinking in Europe from the Late Renaissance to the Early Enlightenment (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2017)

Laura Anne Kalba, Color in the Age of Impressionism: Commerce, Technology, and Art (University Park: Pennsylvania State University Press, 2017)

Dorothy Ko, The Social Life of Inkstones: Artisans and Scholars in Early Qing China (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2017)

Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award

The Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for museum scholarship is presented to the author(s) of an especially distinguished catalogue in the history of art, published between September 1, 2016, and August 31, 2017, under the auspices of a museum, library, or collection. The five finalists for 2018 are:

Matthew Affron, Paint the Revolution: Mexican Modernism, 1910-1950 (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2016)

Wanda M. Corn, Georgia O’Keeffe: Living Modern (Brooklyn: Brooklyn Museum, 2017)

Robert Cozzolino, Anne Classen Knutson, and David M. Lubin, eds., World War I and American Art (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2016)

Barbara Drake Boehm and Melanie Holcomb, eds., Jerusalem, 1000-1400: Every People Under Heaven (New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2016)

Pilar Silva Maroto, Bosch: The Fifth Centenary Exhibition (New York: Thames & Hudson, 2016)

Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, and Exhibitions

In 2009, CAA established a second Barr award for the author(s) of catalogues produced by smaller museums, libraries, and collections with an annual operating budget of less than $10 million. The finalists for the second Barr award for 2018 are:

Melissa Rachleff, Inventing Downtown: Artist-Run Galleries in New York City, 1952-1965 (New York: Grey Art Gallery, New York University, 2017)

Jane Ashton Sharp, Thinking Pictures: The Visual Field of Moscow Conceptualism (New Brunswick, NJ: Zimmerli Art Museum, Rutgers, 2016)

Kevin Sharp, ed., Wild Spaces, Open Seasons: Hunting and Fishing in American Art (Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Press, 2016)

The presentation of the 2018 Awards for Distinction will take place on Wednesday evening, February 21, 6:00–7:30 PM, at the LA Convention Center in Los Angeles. The event is free and open to the public. For more information about CAA’s Awards for Distinction, please contact Aakash Suchak, CAA grants and special programs manager at 212-392-4435.

Filed under: Awards, Books