Skip Navigation

Join Now      Log In




Judith Bernstein (photograph by Ben Fractenberg)

The Services to Artists Committee (SAC) was formed by the CAA Board of Directors to seek broader participation by artists and designers in the organization and the Annual Conference. SAC identifies and addresses concerns facing artists and designers; creates and implements programs and events at the conference and beyond; explores ways to encourage greater participation and leadership in CAA; and identifies ways to establish closer ties with other arts professionals and institutions. To this end, committee members are responsible for the programming of ARTspace and its related events.


Initiated in 2001 at the 89th Annual Conference in Chicago, ARTspace has grown into one of the most vital and exciting aspects of the yearly meeting. A conference-within-the-conference, ARTspace presents programming designed by artists for artists and is free and open to the public. Working in tandem with two affiliated programs, the Media Lounge and ARTexchange, ARTspace promotes dialogue about visual-arts practice and its relation to critical discourse. It also provides professional-development seminars and roundtables as well as opportunities for the creative exchange of ideas.

ARTspace offers an informal, dynamic setting with morning coffee hours, sessions and panels, and other social events. Past presentations have covered artists’ residencies, health and safety issues, and artists’ materials. Other diverse, timely panels have addressed arts funding, politics and art, censorship, and criticism. For the Annual Artists’ Interviews, renowned artists, usually those with long-standing connections to the host city, are invited to discuss their work publicly with a respected colleague.


Joan Giroux, Columbia College Chicago (2021)
Patricia Briggs, Jamestown Community College, Jamestown, NY (2021)
Sarah Comfort, Artist (2021)
Edgar Endress, George Mason University (2020)
Hollis Hammonds, Chair, Visual Studies, St. Edward’s University, Austin, TX (2022)
Julie Hughes, De Anza College (2021)
TeaYoun Kim-Kassor, Georgia College and State University (2021) 
Melissa Lee, Tai Kwun Center for Heritage and Art, Hong Kong (2022)
Alison McNulty, Part-time Faculty, Parsons, The New School (2022)
Heather Pontonio, Emily Hall Tremaine Foundation (2022)
Melissa Potter, Columbia College Chicago, CAA Board liaison (ex officio)
Steve Rossi, Parsons School of Design (2020)
Richard Serrano, Art This Week Productions (2022)
Paul Skiff, Assistant Director for Annual Conference, CAA Staff Liaison
Jacquelyn Strycker, artist, faculty, School of Visual Arts (2022)
Cara Tomlinson, Lewis & Clark College (2020)
Vagner Whitehead, Multidisciplinary artist, Texas Women’s University (2021)
Julia A. Sienkewicz, Roanoke College, VP for Committees, ex officio (2020)