Skip Navigation



The Editorial Board advises the editor-in-chief and guides the journal’s editorial program.

Editorial Board

Peter Lukehart, National Gallery of Art, CAA Vice President for Publications
Leora Maltz-Leca, Rhode Island School of Design, The Art Bulletin Editorial Board Chair 
Karin Zitzewitz, Michigan State University, Art Journal Editorial Board Chair 
Julie Nelson Davis, University of Pennsylvania, Editor-in-Chief and Chair 
Julie L. McGee, University of Delaware, CAA member-at-large
Stephen Whiteman, Courtauld Institute of Art, CAA member-at-large 
Milette Gaifman, Yale University, The Art Bulletin Coeditor (ex officio)
Lillian Tseng, New York University, Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, The Art Bulletin Coeditor (ex officio) 
Jordana Moore-Saggese
, University of Maryland, Art Journal Editor-in-Chief (ex officio)
Nicole Archer, Montclair State University, Art Journal Open Editor-in-Chief (ex officio) 
Meme Omogbai, CAA Executive Director and CEO (ex officio) 
Tiffany Dugan, Director of Programs and Publications (ex officio) 
Joan Strasbaugh, Managing Editor (ex officio)

Council of Field Editors for Books and Related Media

  • Jenny Anger (Grinnell College) Theory and Historiography
  • Anna Anguissola (University of Pisa) Ancient Greek, Roman, Egyptian, and Near Eastern Art
  • Hala Auji  (American University of Beirut) Islamic Art
  • Phillip Bloom (Huntington Library, Art Collection and Botanical Gardens) Chinese, Japanese, and Korean Art
  • Faya Causey (National Gallery of Art) Museum Studies
  • Susanna Caviglia (Duke University) Eighteenth-Century Art
  • Eddie Chambers (University of Texas at Austin) African and African Diaspora Art
  • Martha Dunkelman (Canisius College) Early Modern European Art (South)
  • Andrew Finegold (University of Illinois at Chicago) Precolumbian Art
  • Katrina Grant  (Australian National University) Digital Humanities
  • Anne Heath (Hope College) Medieval Art
  • Jason Hill  (University of Delaware) Photography
  • Allison Morehead (Queens University) Twentieth-Century Art
  • Sandy Ng (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University) Design History
  • Natasha Ruiz-Gómez (School of Philosophy and Art History, University of Essex) Nineteenth-Century Art
  • Alexandra Schwartz  (Independent Scholar) Contemporary Art
  • Maya Stanfield-Mazzi (University of Florida) Latin American Art
  • Samine Tabatabaei  (Independent Scholar) South and Southeast Asian Art
  • Angela Vanhaelen (McGill University) Early Modern European Art (North)

Council of Field Editors for Exhibitions

  • Leslie Anderson (Utah Museum of Fine Arts) West Coast
  • Anca Lasc (Pratt Institute) New York
  • Angelina Lucento (National Research University Higher School of Economics, Moscow) Europe
  • Susan Elizabeth Ryan  (Louisiana State University) Southwest
  • Lily Woodruff (Michigan State University) Midwest
  • Ricardo Miranda Zúñiga (Hunter College, City University of New York) Northeast

CAA Staff

  • Sally Knapp, Publications and Programs Editor
  • Joan Strasbaugh, Managing Editor
  • Tiffany Dugan, Director of Programs and Publications


Please direct all queries regarding the Editorial Board to Daniel Tsai, publications and programs administrator.