Skip Navigation


Committee on Design 

The Committee on Design promotes and advances issues in design practice, design history/theory/criticism, and design education through advocacy, engagement, mentorship, and a commitment to the diversity of practices and practitioners. The committee will further support discussion and action in these areas to stimulate intellectual curiosity and advance skills that enrich the individual and society.

 Designers and design scholars who belong to CAA, including those who have served on this committee, have contributed to a wealth of resources on teaching design and design history:

 There are several listservs and other online groups in which members of CAA’s design community also participate.


Zach Kaiser, Michigan State University, Chair (2022)

David Beck, University of Wisconsin-Stout (2022)
Chelsea Bruner, Ringling College of Art & Design (2022)
Scott Gerhardt, IT manager, CAA
Rachel Gottlieb, Professor, Sessional Sheridan College, Toronto, CA (2024)
Meghen M. Jones, NYS College of Ceramics at Alfred University (2022)
Anca Lasc, Pratt Institute (2022)
Sarina Miller, Temple University, Drexel University (2023)
Grace Ong Yan, Asst. Prof. Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, PA (2024)
Neeta Verma, University of Notre Dame (2022)
Allison Walters, CAA Staff Liaison (ex officio)
Nina Warchavchik Hugerth, Design Historian, Director of Archives & Publications, R+ Company (2024)
Lisa Willard, University of Tampa, Florida (2023)