Skip Navigation



One of the programs of CAA’s International Committee is the CAA-Getty International Program. Pictured here are participants at the 2019 Annual Conference in New York. Photo: Ben Fractenberg


The International Committee (IC) seeks to foster an international community of artists, designers, scholars, and critics within CAA; to provide forums in which to exchange ideas and make connections; to encourage engagement with the international visual arts community; to develop relationships between CAA and organizations outside the United States with comparable goals and activities; and to assist the CAA Board of Directors by identifying and recommending advocacy issues that involve CAA and cross national borders. Current activities focus on art historians, curators, and artists who teach art history; however, plans are underway to develop robust programs for visiting artists and designers. In the future, the committee also hopes to involve international students in its programs.

IC Subcommittees

The work of the International Committee is organized into four subcommittees. All members serve on one of them throughout their three-year membership term, though they can change committees from year to year.

  • Conference Session Subcommittee
    • Task: To identify the session topic, solicit session papers, and fully constitute the session panel for the CAA Annual Conference
    • Recent Activities:
      • “Frenemies: Unlikely Culture Exchange in the Pre-and Early Modern World” session panel sponsored by the IC for the CAA 107th Annual Conference in New York City on February 16, 2019.
      • "Languages of Art History" session panel sponsored by the IC for the CAA 108th Annual Conference in Chicago, IL, forthcoming in February 2020.
  • CAA-Getty International Program Subcommittee

Since 2011, CAA has received funds from the Getty Foundation to bring between 15 and 20 international scholars each year to attend the CAA Annual Conference. Over time, the program has grown to include a one-day preconference colloquium on international issues in art history, a conference session organized by alumni, and an online discussion forum to explore international issues with alumni of the program. A major program of the International Committee, the CAA-Getty International Program is directed by a professional staff member of CAA, who works closely with committee members to organize this annual event. More information about this program is available here.

  • Tasks:
    • To form a jury and select the annual CAA-Getty International Program participants (15 new and 5 alumni)
    • To identify session topics and organize the annual CAA-Getty Preconference Colloquium
    • To work with five alumni to advise new participants in preparing their presentations for the annual CAA-Getty Preconference Colloquium on international topics in art history
    • To invite US-based CAA members to serve as hosts for their international colleagues
    • To produce the CAA-Getty Preconference Colloquium and the Alumni Global Conversations conference session at the CAA Annual Conference
  • Recent Activities:
  • International Program for Artists Subcommittee
    • Task:
      • To draft a proposal for an international program to bring artists and designers to the CAA Annual Conference
    • Activities:
      • Preliminary proposal developed in conjunction with the Services to Artists Committee and sent to CAA board of directors in May 2019
      • Project currently on hold because of leadership transition at CAA


TK, Chair 

Anna Sigrídur Arnar, Minnesota State University, Moorhead (2024) 
Roland Betancourt, University of California, Irvine, CAA Board liaison, ex officio 
Tenley Bick, Florida State University (2023) 
Pedith Chan, Chinese University of Hong Kong (2023) 
Paul Jaskot, Duke University, National Committee for the History of Art President, ex officio 
Alice Ming Wai Jim, Concordia University (2022), CAA Board liaison, ex officio 
Danielle M. Johnson, Independent Curator (2023) 
Sonal Khullar, University of Washington, Seattle (2022) 
Nazar Kozak, National Academy of Sciences, Lviv, Ukraine (2022) 
Elize Mazadiego, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands (2022) 
Cristian Nae, George Enescu National University of Arts, Iasi, Romania (2023) 
Andrew Svedlow, University of Northern Colorado (2022) 
Nora Veszpremi, Masaryk University, Brno (2024)