Skip Navigation




The Professional Practices Committee responds to specific concerns of the membership in relation to areas such as job placement and recruitment, tenure and promotion procedures, scholarly standards and ethics, studio health and safety, and artists’ practices. The Professional Practices Committee also oversees the Standards and Guidelines.


The Professional Practices Committee remains focused on updating CAA's Standards and Guidelines and aims to position future CAA committees to succeed in refreshing all Standards and Guidelines on five-year intervals. 


Denise Amy Baxter, University of North Texas, Chair (2022)
Colin Blakely, University of Arizona, Board liaison
Charles Boone, College of DuPage, Chicago (2022)
Dr. Carolyn Butler-Palmer, University of Victoria, BC, Canada (2021)
Alison Chang, Director of Communications, Marketing, and Membership, CAA staff liaison
Diane Derr, Virginia Commonwealth University School of the Arts in Qatar, Doha (2023)
Robert Ladislas Derr, University of Nebraska (2022)
Laura Gelfand, Utah State University (2021)
Michael Grillo, University of Maine (2022)
Marcella Hackbardt, Kenyon College (2021)
Paul Jaskot, Duke University (2021)
Kathleen Kramer, University of Pennsylvania (2022)
Roberta Lawson, office manager, CAA staff liaison
Richard Lubben, College of the Sequoias, Visalia, CA (2023)
Meredith Lynn, Florida State University (2021)
Nikki Moser, Marywood University (2022)
Matthew Mosher, University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL (2023)
Troy Richards, Fashion Institute of Technology (2021)
Mattie M. Schloetzer, National Gallery of Art (2022)
Julia A. Sienkewicz, Roanoke College, VP for Committees, ex officio (2021)