Skip Navigation


Committee on Research and Scholarship

The Committee on Research and Scholarship is charged with gathering information, assessing trends, and proposing organizational advocacy for CAA on matters concerning the advancement of research and scholarship in visual arts and design, encompassing all facets of research regarding history, education, and practice. Recognizing that professionals must navigate a rapidly transforming field of options for conducting research and disseminating the results thereof, the committee is responsible for assisting the organization in engaging with current issues and serving its membership in this important facet of their professional life.

Current Committee Members

Brian Scott Campbell , Co-chair, University of North Texas (2026)
Shenouda Rizkalla Fahim Youssef, Co-chair, Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities-Egypt (2026)

Roland Betancourt, University of California Irvine, CAA Board Liaison, Ex Officio  
Leda Cempellin, South Dakota State University (2024)  
Gregory Gilbert, Knox College, CAA Board Liaison, Ex Offico
Mitchell Merling, Independent Scholar (2026)
Dana Ostrander, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (2026)
Gorda Stan, Independent Researcher (2026)
Emily Walz, New York Public Library (2024)