Skip Navigation

College Art Association
rss Twitter Facebook You Tube


CAA/Heritage Preservation Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation

The CAA/Heritage Preservation Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation was initiated in 1990 for an outstanding contributions by one or more persons who, individually or jointly, have enhanced understanding of art through the application of knowledge and experience in conservation, art history, and art.

2014 Winner

Glenn Wharton

Glenn Wharton

The work of Glenn Wharton, an outstanding archaeological conservator, a sensitive conservator of outdoor sculpture, and a leader in the conservation of contemporary art and time-based art, has brought about a major shift in the ethics and approaches to his discipline. After serving as editor of the journal Field Notes: Practical Guides for Archaeological Conservation and Site Preservation, he devoted almost three years of research for the conservation of the monumental painted brass statue of King Kamehameha I in Honolulu, conducting the treatment as a public event in which community input influenced technical decisions. The project became the subject of Wharton’s PhD dissertation and a well-received monograph, and his subsequent publications and lectures on the treatment of the Kamehameha monument have changed the way conservators preserve sensitive cultural objects. In 2006, he took up two positions: one as conservator for time-based art at the Museum of Modern Art in New York; and the second as a faculty member in New York University’s museum-studies program. In that same year he founded the International Network for the Conservation of Contemporary Art – North America and served as its executive director until 2010. Wharton’s career has been distinguished by unceasing growth and commitment to thoroughness, as demonstrated in his rigorous publications, in the dissemination of his work, and, perhaps most important, in his exceptional generosity and dedication to teaching.

Past Winners

Conservators at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Art, and, more recently, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum have all received the CAA/Heritage Preservation Award. Independent scholars and conservators, such as Andrea Kirsch and Rustin S. Levenson (both 2001) and John Thorpe (2006) have also been honored. Perhaps the most international of CAA awards, recipients from institutions abroad include Paolo Cherchi Usai of the National Screen and Sound Archive in Australia (2005) and Ernst van de Wetering at the University of Amsterdam (2003).

Read a list of all winners of the CAA/Heritage Preservation Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation from 1991 to the present.

Award Nominations

CAA has begun accepting nominations for the 2015 awards. Please review the guidelines to familiarize yourself with the nomination process and to download, complete, and submit the requested materials. Deadline: July 31, 2014, for the Charles Rufus Morey Book Award and the Alfred H. Barr Jr. Awards; August 31, 2014, for all others.

Privacy Policy | Refund Policy

Copyright © 2015 College Art Association.

50 Broadway, 21st Floor, New York, NY 10004 | T: 212-691-1051 | F: 212-627-2381 | nyoffice@collegeart.org

The College Art Association: advancing the history, interpretation, and practice of the visual arts for over a century.