Skip Navigation

College Art Association
rss Twitter Facebook You Tube flickr instagram


Distinguished Feminist Award

The Distinguished Feminist Award, first presented in 2009, honors a person who, through his or her art, scholarship, or advocacy, has advanced the cause of equality for women in the arts. This award replaces the Annual Recognition Awards given by CAA’s Committee on Women in the Arts (CWA) from 1996 to 2008 at a ceremony at the Annual Conference.

2015 Winner

Amelia Jones

Amelia Jones

Amelia Jones is an internationally-acclaimed, pioneering, and provocative critic, scholar, and curator of feminist art. Her prolific publications on feminist and queer histories of twentieth- and twenty-first-century visual arts include books such as Body Art/Performing the Subject and Seeing Differently: A History and Theory of Identification and the Visual Arts. Her scholarship has encompassed performance, film, video, and installation, and forged paths toward nuanced, interdisciplinary new ways of analyzing and historicizing feminist art. Jones’s groundbreaking exhibitions, such as The Politics of Difference: Artists Explore Issues of Identity and Sexual Politics: Judy Chicago’s Dinner Party in Feminist Art History, have traced the rise of identity politics in art since the mid-twentieth century, and instigated exciting reconsiderations of second-wave feminist art. She is additionally beloved as an inspirational educator, who has taught at universities across North America and the UK, recently returning to the United States as a professor of art history at the University of Southern California. Jones is at the root, and remains at the forefront of recent critical shifts affecting feminist thought and activism in precisely the far- reaching ways that the Distinguished Feminist Award was established to recognize.

Jury: Maria Elena Buszek, University of Colorado, Denver, chair; Hilary Robinson, Middlesex University; and Kathleen Wentrack, Queensborough Community College, City University of New York.

Past Winners

Read a list of all winners of the Distinguished Feminist Award. Recipients of the CWA Annual Recognition Awards have included Agnes Gund, Louise Bourgeouis, Linda Nochlin, Nancy Spero, Betye Saar, and Moira Roth, among others.

Award Nominations

CAA has begun accepting nominations for the 2016 awards. Please review the guidelines to familiarize yourself with the nomination process and to download, complete, and submit the requested materials. Deadline: July 31, 2015, for the Charles Rufus Morey Book Award, the Alfred H. Barr Jr. Awards, and the Frank Jewett Mather Award; August 31, 2015, for all others.

Privacy Policy | Refund Policy

Copyright © 2016 College Art Association.

50 Broadway, 21st Floor, New York, NY 10004 | T: 212-691-1051 | F: 212-627-2381 | nyoffice@collegeart.org

The College Art Association: advancing the history, interpretation, and practice of the visual arts for over a century.