Skip Navigation

College Art Association


Committee on Diversity Practices


The Committee on Diversity Practices supports the development of global perspectives on art and visual culture. The committee promotes artistic, curatorial, scholarly, and institutional practices that deepen appreciation of political and cultural heterogeneity as educational and professional values. To that end, the committee assesses and evaluates the development and implementation of curricular innovation, new research methods, curatorial and pedagogical strategies, and hiring practices that contribute to the realization of these goals.

Recent Projects

The Resource Directory for Diversity Practices, compiled by the Committee on Diversity Practices, provides a range of materials that is useful for incorporating issues about diversity in its various forms into the classroom. The committee invites submissions of syllabi, bibliographies, internet links, databases, assessment materials, pedagogic activities and exercises, and other relevant documents to post in its Diversity Resource Directory in order to assist others in searching and utilizing materials on diversity and/or to expand the breadth of the art field beyond Europe and North America. Notions of diversity encompass but are not limited to: race, ethnicity, nationality, sex, gender, sexual orientation, creed, age, class, political views, veteran status, and physical challenges. Please use this form to submit a resource.

CDP Highlights

The CAA Committee on Diversity Practices highlights exhibitions, events, and activities that support the development of global perspectives on art and visual culture and deepen our appreciation of political and cultural heterogeneity as educational and professional values.

Committee Members (2017–18)

Julie L. McGee, University of Delaware, Chair
Ann Albritton, Ringling College of Art and Design
Mariola Alvarez, Washington College
Flora B. Anthony, Georgia State University
Christopher Bennett, University of Louisiana
Kim Blodgett, Westminster Schools
Katherine Brion, New College of Florida
Radha Dalal, Virginia Commonwealth University in Qatar
Shannon Forrester, Mount Ida College
Jim Hopfensperger, Western Michigan University, CAA Board Liaison (ex officio)
Hunter O'Hanian, CAA Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer (ex officio)
Chika Okeke-Agulu, Princeton University, CAA Board Liaison (ex officio)
Raél Jero Salley, University of Cape Town
Roberto Tejada, University of Houston, CAA Board Liaison (ex officio)
Tobias Wofford, Santa Clara University
Edith Wolfe, Tulane University


Please have the developer who manages the current website have this Quantcast tracking code added to the end of every page in the site, before the closing tag: