Skip Navigation

Join Now      Log In



New for CAA 2020; The Annual Conference Committee (ACC) has appointed 66 CAA members to the Council of Readers to serve a crucial role in the review process. The Council of Readers is group of 50 to 75 CAA members from Professional Committees, Affiliated Societies, and general membership overseen by the Annual Conference Committee chair. 

The Council is tasked with reading proposals submitted by CAA members with a focus on each Reader’s specialty. Readers serve for three years and provide their time, knowledge, and expertise to help shape the conference. Review of proposals is overseen by the ACC and occurs in May. Each member of the Council of Readers reviews no more than 60 proposals. The ACC chair shapes the conference content based on the reviews given by the Council. The call for new Council members will open Fall 2019, please contact Mira Friedlaender, Manager of the Annual Conference at for more details.

Council Members for CAA 2020 

Gabriela Aceves Sepúlveda, Simon Fraser University
Susan Altman, Middlesex County College
Angela Andersen, University of Victoria
Leslie Anderson, Utah Museum of Fine Arts
Elissa Armstrong, VCU
Jeff Ball, Harford Community College
Roann Barris,  Radford University
Mora Beauchamp-Byrd, Oklahoma State University
Claudia Brittenham, University of Chicago
Susan Casteras, University of Washington
Frank L Chance, University of Pennsylvania
Chiong-Yiao Chen, University of North Alabama
Deborah Cibelli, Nicholls State University
Sarah Comfort, Artist
John Corso Esquivel, Oakland University
Anthony Crisafulli, University of North Alabama
Adrienne DeVine, Artist
Art Di Furia, Savannah College of Art and Design
Kathryn Floyd, Auburn University
Catherine Girard, Eastern Washington University
Joan Giroux, Columbia College Chicago
Jennifer Griffiths, University of Georgia
Camara Holloway, Association for Critical Race Art History
Rock Hushka, Tacoma Art Museum
Maile Hutterer, University of Oregon
Kira Jones, Emory University
Yelena Kalinsky, Michigan State University
Carolyn Kallenborn, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Christina Kemp, Artist
Liz Kim, Texas Woman's University
Hannah Wirta Kinney, Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin College & Conservatory
Susan Klaiber, Independent Scholar
Lauren Lake, University of North Texas
Anca Lasc, Pratt Institute
Di Luo, Wake Forest University
Margaret MacNamidhe, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Amanda Maples, North Carolina Museum of Art
Jodi Lynn McCoy, Indiana State University
Hallie Meredith, Washington State University
Rachel Miller, California State University, Sacramento
Anya Montiel, University of Arizona
Mey-Yen Moriuchi, La Salle University
Victoria Pass, Committee on Design
Kristi Peterson, Skidmore College
Rebecca Rushfield, American Institute for Conservation
Minnie Russell, Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service
Mahnaz Shah, Zarzar ArchLab
Karen Shelby, Baruch College
Delia Solomons, Drexel University
Virginia Spivey, Independent Art Historian; MICA ; Rutgers AHTR;  Art History Teaching Resources
Deborah Stein, California College of Arts and San Francisco State
Jennifer Stoots, Stoots LLC
Jacquelyn Strycker, School of Visual Arts 
Skylor Swann, Fayetteville State University
Anne Swartz, Savannah College of Art and Design
Maria Taroutina, Yale-NUS College
Mary Thomas, University of Minnesota 
John Tyson, UMass Boston
Zachary Vernon, California State University—LA
Gretchen Von Koenig, Parsons School of Design
Yang Wang, University of Colorado Denver
Jerry Waters, Independent Scholar
Kelly Whitford, Wheaton College
Lisa Jayne Willard, University of Tampa
Bess Williamson, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Lesley Wolff, Texas Tech University
Nancy Zeller, Art Institute of Pittsburgh