Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

Morey and Barr Award Finalists

posted by Lauren Stark — Nov 11, 2008

CAA is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2009 Charles Rufus Morey Book Award and the Alfred H. Barr, Jr., Award. The winners of both prizes, along with the recipients of other Awards for Distinction, will be announced in mid-December and presented in February during Convocation at the 2009 Annual Conference in Los Angeles.

The Charles Rufus Morey Book Award honors an especially distinguished book in the history of art, published in any language between September 1, 2007, and August 31, 2008. The finalists are:

  • Anthony J. Barbieri-Low, Artisans in Early Imperial China (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2007)
  • Jennifer A. González, Subject to Display: Reframing Race in Contemporary Installation Art (Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2008)
  • D. Fairchild Ruggles, Islamic Gardens and Landscapes (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2008)
  • Harvey Stahl, Picturing Kingship: History and Painting in the Psalter of Saint Louis (University Park: Pennsylvania State University Press, 2008)

The Alfred H. Barr, Jr., Award for museum scholarship is presented to the author(s) of an especially distinguished catalogue in the history of art, published between September 1, 2007, and August 31, 2008, under the auspices of a museum, library, or collection. The finalists are:

  • Tim Barringer, Gillian Forrester, and Barbaro Martinez-Ruiz, eds., Art and Emancipation in Jamaica: Isaac Mendes Belisario and His Worlds (New Haven: Yale Center for British Art, in association with Yale University Press, 2007)
  • Wolfram Koeppe and Annamaria Giusti, Art of the Royal Court: Treasures in Pietre Dure from the Palaces of Europe (New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, in association with Yale University Press, 2008)
  • Terese Tse Bartholomew and John Johnston, eds., The Dragon’s Gift: The Sacred Arts of Bhutan (Chicago: Serindia Publications, in association with the Honolulu Academy of Arts and the Kingdom of Bhutan, 2008)
  • Shelley Bennett and Carolyn Sargentson, eds., French Art of the Eighteenth Century at the Huntington (San Marino, CA: Huntington Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Gardens, in association with Yale University Press, 2008)

A second Barr award will be awarded, intended for but not restricted to smaller museums, libraries, or collections. It takes into consideration the size of the collection or exhibition. The two finalists are:

  • Phillip Earenfight, ed., A Kiowa’s Odyssey: A Sketchbook from Fort Marion (Seattle: University of Washington Press, in association with the Trout Gallery, Dickinson College, 2007)
  • Ella Reitsma, assisted by Sandrine Ulenberg, Maria Sibylla Merian and Daughters: Women of Art and Science (Zwolle, the Netherlands: Waanders, in collaboration with the Rembrandt House Museum and the J. Paul Getty Museum, 2008)

Convocation at the 2009 Annual Conference takes place on Wednesday evening, February 25, 5:30–7:00 PM, in West Hall Meeting Room 502AB at the Los Angeles Convention Center. The event is free and open to the public.

For more information about CAA’s Awards for Distinction, please contact Lauren Stark, CAA manager of programs, at 212-691-1051, ext. 248.