Annual Conference 2024                                           Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

Fall Winners of the Meiss/Mellon Author’s Book Award

posted by Christopher Howard — Dec 16, 2013

CAA is pleased to announce the two recipients of the Meiss/Mellon Author’s Book Award for fall 2013. Thanks to a grant of $60,000 from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, CAA is supporting the work of emerging authors who are publishing monographs on the history of art and related subjects.

The fall 2013 grant recipients are:

  • Sarah Hamill, David Smith in Two Dimensions: Photography and the Matter of Sculpture, University of California Press
  • Ara H. Merjian, Giorgio de Chirico and the Metaphysical City, Yale University Press

The purpose of the Meiss/Mellon subventions is to reduce the financial burden that authors carry when acquiring images for publication, including licensing and reproduction fees for both print and online publications.