Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

Finalists for the 2020 Morey and Barr Awards

posted by CAA — Dec 09, 2019

CAA is pleased to announce the 2020 finalists for the Charles Rufus Morey Book Award and two Alfred H. Barr Jr. Awards. The winners of the three prizes, along with the recipients of other Awards for Distinction, will be announced in January 2020 and presented during Convocation in conjunction with CAA’s 108th Annual Conference, taking place in Chicago, February 12-15, 2020.

The Charles Rufus Morey Book Award Shortlist 2020

Chanchal B. Dadlani, From Stone to Paper: Architecture as History in the Late Mughal Empire, Yale University Press, 2019

Barbara Furlotti, Antiquities in Motion: From Excavation Sites to Renaissance Collections, Getty Publications, 2019

Matthew Looper, The Beast Between:  Deer in Maya Art and Culture, University of Texas Press, 2019

Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award Shortlist 2020

Cathleen Chaffee, Introducing Tony Conrad: A Retrospective, Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo, NY, in association with Koenig Books, London, 2019

Karl Kusserow and Alan C. Braddock, Nature’s Nation: American Art and Environment, Princeton University Art Museum in association with Yale University Press, 2018

Esther Gabara, Pop América, 1965-1975, Duke University Press, 2018

Elizabeth Morrison, Book of Beasts: The Bestiary in the Medieval World, Getty Publications, 2019

Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, and Exhibitions Shortlist 2020

Denise Murrell, Posing Modernity: The Black Model from Manet and Matisse to Today, Yale University Press in association with the Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Art Gallery, Columbia University in the City of New York, 2018

Phillip Earenfight, Shan Goshorn: Resisting the Mission, Trout Gallery, the Art Museum of Dickinson College, 2019

Tracy L. Adler, Jeffery Gibson: This is The Day, Prestel Publishing, 2018

Faith Brower, Heather Ahtone, and Seth Hopkins, Warhol and the West, University of California Press, 2019

The presentation of the 2020 Awards for Distinction will take place during CAA Convocation on Wednesday evening, February 12, 2020 from 6-7:30 p.m. in the Grand Ballroom at the Hilton Chicago. The event is free and open to the public. For more information about CAA’s Awards for Distinction, please contact

Filed under: Awards, Books