Annual Conference 2024                                           Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

House Subcommittee Approves NEH Funding Increase

posted by Christopher Howard — Jun 15, 2007

On Wednesday, May 23, the House Interior Appropriations Subcommittee approved an increase of $19 million for the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), for a total fiscal year (FY) 2008 funding of $160 million. If enacted, this would constitute the largest increase for the agency since 1979.

The subcommittee’s action is the first in many steps before FY 08 funding for the NEH is finalized, including approval by the full House Appropriations Committee, passage in both the House and Senate, and enactment by the president.

The full House Appropriations Committee is expected to markup the NEH spending bill this Thursday, June 7, with the full bill moving to the floor for a vote the week of June 11.

Action Needed
If your representative is a member of the House Appropriations Committee (see list below), please ask him or her to support the $19 million increase for the NEH for FY 2008. All representatives can be reached by calling the Capitol Switchboard at 202-224-3121. A template message is available for faxing at the Humanities Advocacy Network website.

Message to Members of the House Appropriations Committee
As you are a member of the House Appropriations Committee, I ask that you support the $19 million increase for the National Endowment for the Humanities recommended by the House Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies. This increase would mark an important step forward in restoring funding for the agency and signal that Congress is ready to make a significant new investment in the nation’s education and research infrastructure through the National Endowment for the Humanities.

House Appropriations Committee (sorted by state)
Robert E. “Bud” Cramer, Jr., Alabama (D)
Robert B. Aderholt, Alabama (R)
Ed Pastor, Arizona (D)
Marion Berry, Arkansas (D)
Lucille Roybal-Allard, California (D)
Sam Farr, California (D)
Barbara Lee, California (D)
Jerry Lewis, California, Ranking Member (R)
John T. Doolittle, California (R)
Adam Schiff, California (D)
Michael Honda, California (D)
Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut (D)
Allen Boyd, Florida (D)
Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Florida (D)
C. W. Bill Young, Florida (R)
Dave Weldon, Florida (R)
Ander Crenshaw, Florida (R)
Jack Kingston, Georgia (R)
Sanford Bishop, Georgia (D)
Michael K. Simpson, Idaho (R)
Ray LaHood, Illinois (R)
Mark Steven Kirk, Illinois (R)
Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., Illinois (D)
Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana (D)
Tom Latham, Iowa (R)
Todd Tiahrt, Kansas (R)
Harold Rogers, Kentucky (R)
Ben Chandler, Kentucky (D)
Rodney Alexander, Louisiana (R)
C. A. “Dutch” Ruppersberger, Maryland (D)
John W. Olver, Massachusetts (D)
Joe Knollenberg, Michigan (R)
Carolyn C. Kilpatrick, Michigan (D)
Betty McCollum, Minnesota (D)
Roger F. Wicker, Mississippi (R)
Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri (R)
Dennis R. Rehberg, Montana (R)
Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey (R)
Steven R. Rothman, New Jersey (D)
Tom Udall, New Mexico (D)
Steve Israel, New York (D)
James T. Walsh, New York (R)
Nita M. Lowey, New York (D)
José E. Serrano, New York (D)
Maurice D. Hinchey, New York (D)
David E. Price, North Carolina (D)
Marcy Kaptur, Ohio (D)
Ralph Regula, Ohio (R)
David L. Hobson, Ohio (R)
Tim Ryan, Ohio (D)
John E. Peterson, Pennsylvania (R)
John P. Murtha, Pennsylvania (D)
Chaka Fattah, Pennsylvania (D)
Patrick J. Kennedy, Rhode Island (D)
Zach Wamp, Tennessee (R)
Ciro Rodriguez, Texas (D)
Kay Granger, Texas (R)
John Abney Culberson, Texas (R)
John Carter, Texas (R)
Chet Edwards, Texas (D)
James P. Moran, Virginia (D)
Frank R. Wolf, Virginia (R)
Virgil H. Goode, Jr., Virginia (R)
Norman D. Dicks, Washington (D)
Alan B. Mollohan, West Virginia (D)
David R. Obey, Wisconsin, Chair (D)