Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

Meet the Meiss Fund Recipients for Fall 2020

posted by Allison Walters — Jan 25, 2021

A woman seated on a obstetrical chair giving birth aided by a midwife who works beneath her skirts. Woodcut.


Twice a year, CAA awards grants through the Millard Meiss Publication Fund to support book-length scholarly manuscripts in the history of art, visual studies, and related subjects that have been accepted by a publisher on their merits, but cannot be published in the most desirable form without a subsidy.

Thanks to the generous bequest of the late Prof. Millard Meiss, CAA began awarding these publishing grants in 1975.

The Millard Meiss Publication Fund grantees for Fall 2020 are:

  • Cammy BrothersGiuliano da Sangallo and the Ruins of RomePrinceton University Press 
  • Lindsay CaplanProgrammed Art: Freedom, Control, and Computation in 1960s ItalyUniversity of Minnesota Press 
  • Margaret Graves and Alex Dika SeggermanMaking Modernity in the Islamic MediterraneanIndiana University Press 
  • Diana GreenwaldPainting by Numbers: Data-Driven Histories of Nineteenth Century ArtPrinceton University Press 
  • Subhashini KaligotlaShiva’s Waterfront Temples: Self and Space in Medieval IndiaYale University Press 
  • Sigrid LienColonial LegaciesDecolonial Activism: Indigenous Photographs RevisitedUniversity of British Columbia Press
  • Elizabeth PerrillBurnished: Zulu Ceramics Between Rural and Urban South Africa Indiana University Press
  • Stephanie Sparling WilliamsSpeaking Out of Turn: Lorraine O’Grady and the Art of LanguageUniversity of California Press
  • Rebecca Whiteley, Birth Figures: Early Modern Prints and the Pregnant BodyUniversity of Chicago Press 

Read a list of all recipients of the Millard Meiss Publication Fund from 1975 to the present. The list is alphabetized by author’s last name and includes book titles and publishers.


Books eligible for a Meiss grant must currently be under contract with a publisher and be on a subject in the arts or art history. The deadlines for the receipt of applications are March 15 and September 15 of each year. Please review the Application Guidelines and the Application Process, Schedule, and Checklist for complete instructions.


Questions? Please contact Cali Buckley, Grants and Special Programs Manager, at

Filed under: Awards