CAA News Today

Join a CAA Award Jury

posted by Lauren Stark — Mar 24, 2010

CAA invites nominations and self-nominations for individuals to serve on juries for the annual Awards for Distinction for three years (2010–12). Terms begin in May 2010; award years are 2011–13. CAA’s twelve awards honor artists, art historians, authors, curators, critics, and teachers whose accomplishments transcend their individual disciplines and contribute to the profession as a whole and to the world at large.

Candidates must possess expertise appropriate to the jury’s work and be current CAA members. They should not be serving on another CAA committee or editorial board. CAA’s president and vice president for committees appoint jury members for service.

Nominations and self-nominations should include a brief statement (no more than 150 words) outlining the individual’s qualifications and experience and an abbreviated CV (no more than two pages). Please send all materials to: Vice President for Committees, c/o Lauren Stark, Manager of Programs, CAA, 275 Seventh Ave., 18th Floor, New York, NY 10001. Materials may also be sent to; all email submissions must be sent as Microsoft Word attachments. Deadline: April 16, 2010.

The following jury vacancies will be filled this spring:

  • Charles Rufus Morey Book Award: 2 members
  • Alfred H. Barr, Jr., Award: 3 members
  • Arthur Kingsley Porter Prize: 2 members
  • Art Journal Award: 2 members
  • Frank Jewett Mather Award: 1 member
  • Distinguished Teaching of Art Award: 1 member
  • Distinguished Feminist Award: 2 members
  • Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art: 2 members
  • CAA/Heritage Preservation Award: 2 members

No jury members are needed for the Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award, the Artist Award for a Distinguished Body of Work, and the Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Filed under: Awards, Committees, Governance