Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

CAA Celebrates Its Fifty-Year Members

posted by Christopher Howard — Dec 01, 2010

CAA warmly thanks the many contributions of the following dedicated members who joined CAA in 1960 or earlier. This year, the annually published list welcomes nine new members. Seven are distinguished scholars whose teaching and publications have shaped the history of art over the last fifty years. The other two are celebrated artists with deep roots in the Great Plains: Dan Howard, a painter and longtime professor and department chair at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln; and Edward Navone, a draftsman and painter who taught for many years at Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas.

1960: Shirley N. Blum; David C. Driskell; Mojmir S. Frinta; Dan F. Howard; W. Eugene Kleinbauer; Ruth Mellinkoff; Edward W. Navone; Linda Nochlin; and J. J. Pollitt.

1959: Adele M. Ernstrom; Geraldine Fowle; Edith M. Hoffman; Carol H. Krinsky; James F. O’Gorman; Charles S. Rhyne; and Ann K. Warren.

1958: William D. Badgett; Samuel Y. Edgerton, Jr.; Damie Stillman; Eric Van Schaack; and Clare Vincent.

1957: Marcel M. Franciscono; Bruce Glaser; William C. Loerke; Susan R. McKillop; John F. Omelia; and Frances P. Taft.

1956: Svetlana L. Alpers; Norman W. Canedy; John Goelet; Joel Isaacson; John M. Schnorrenberg; and Jack J. Spector.

1955: Carroll W. Brentano; Lola B. Gellman; Oleg Grabar; Irving Lavin; Marilyn A. Lavin; Suzanne Lewis; and Leo Steinberg.

1954: Franklin Hamilton Hazlehurst; Patricia C. Loud; Thomas McCormick; Alfred K. Moir; Jessie J. Poesch; Jules D. Prown; Jane E. Rosenthal; Irving Sandler; Lucy Freeman Sandler; and Harold E. Spencer.

1953: Dorathea K. Beard; Margaret McCormick; Seymour Slive; John W. Straus; and Jack Wasserman.

1951: Wen C. Fong; J. Richard Judson; and Carl N. Schmalz Jr.

1950: Jane Dillenberger; Alan M. Fern; and Marilyn J. Stokstad.

1949: Dario A. Covi; Norman B. Gulamerian; and Ann-Sofi Lindsten.

1948: William S. Dale; Clarke H. Garnsey; and Peter H. Selz.

1947: Dericksen M. Brinkerhoff; David G. Carter; Ellen P. Conant; Ilene H. Forsyth; and J. Edward Kidder, Jr.

1946: Mario Valente.

1945: James Ackerman; Paul B. Arnold; and Rosalie B. Green.

1940: Creighton Gilbert.