Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

Finalists for the 2012 Morey and Barr Awards

posted by Christopher Howard — Dec 02, 2011

CAA is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2012 Charles Rufus Morey Book Award and the Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award. The winners of both prizes, along with the recipients of ten other Awards for Distinction, will be announced in January and presented during a special ceremony in Los Angeles, in conjunction with the 100th Annual Conference and Centennial Celebration.

The Charles Rufus Morey Book Award honors an especially distinguished book in the history of art, published in any language between September 1, 2010, and August 31, 2011. The four finalists are:

  • Michael W. Cole, Ambitious Form: Giambologna, Ammanati, and Danti in Florence (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2011)
  • Rebecca Messbarger, The Lady Anatomist: The Life and Work of Anna Morandi Manzolini (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010)
  • Alexander Nagel, The Controversy of Renaissance Art (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2011)
  • Nina Rowe, The Jew, The Cathedral, and the Medieval City: Synagoga and Ecclesia in the Thirteenth Century (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011)

The Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for museum scholarship is presented to the author(s) of an especially distinguished catalogue in the history of art, published between September 1, 2010, and August 31, 2011, under the auspices of a museum, library, or collection. The three finalists are:

  • Maryan W. Ainsworth, ed., Man, Myth, and Sensual Pleasures: Jan Gossart’s Renaissance; The Complete Works (New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, in association with Yale University Press, 2010)
  • Suzanne Glover Lindsay, Daphne S. Barbour, and Shelley G. Sturman, Edgar Degas Sculpture (Washington, DC: National Gallery of Art, 2010)
  • Elizabeth Morrison and Anne D. Hedeman, Imagining the Past in France: History in Manuscript Painting, 1250–1500(Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Museum, 2010)

The Barr jury has also shortlisted two catalogues for the second Barr Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, or Collections. The titles are:

  • Roy Flukinger, The Gernsheim Collection (Austin: Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas Press, 2010)
  • James T. Tice and James G. Harper, Giuseppe Vasi’s Rome: Lasting Impressions from the Age of the Grand Tour (Eugene: Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art, University of Oregon, 2010)

The presentation of the 2012 Awards for Distinction will take place on Thursday afternoon, February 23, 12:30–2:00 PM, in West Hall Meeting Room 502AB, Level 2, Los Angeles Convention Center. The event is free and open to the public. For more information about CAA’s Awards for Distinction, please contact Lauren Stark, CAA manager of programs, at 212-392-4405.

Filed under: Annual Conference, Awards, Books