CAA News Today

Members of CAA’s new Committee on Design

posted by CAA — Aug 01, 2016

In 2015 CAA established a Task Force on Design charged with suggesting positions the organization might adopt toward design, design studies, designers, design educators, historians, and theorists. In early 2016 the CAA Board of Directors announced it would replace the Task Force with a new Committee on Design to be among CAA’s ten standing Professional Interests, Practices, and Standards Committees.

Jim Hopfensperger, CAA’s VP for Committees, is pleased to announce the following members who will constitute the inaugural Committee on Design:

Helen Armstrong, North Carolina State University
Audrey Bennett, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Holly Cline, Chair, Radford University
Federico Freschi, University of Johannesburg
Chris Garvin, University of Georgia
Matthew Gaynor, Kansas State University
Elizabeth Guffey, State University of New York at Purchase
David Howarth, Zayed University, Dubai
Zach Kaiser, Michigan State University
Sarah Lawrence, Parsons School of Design
Yelena McLane, Florida State University
Victoria Pass, Salisbury University
David Raizman, Drexel University
Bess Williamson, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Dan Wong, New York City College of Technology, CUNY

The Committee on Design will promote and advance issues in design practice, design history/theory/criticism, and design education through advocacy, engagement, and a commitment to the diversity of practices and practitioners. The committee will further support discussion and action in these areas to stimulate intellectual curiosity and advance skills that enrich the individual and society.

CAA is grateful to these dedicated members who will work to advance the interests of all design disciplines through their service to CAA.


Filed under: Uncategorized