CAA News Today

Finalists for the 2019 Morey and Barr Awards

posted by CAA — Nov 29, 2018

CAA is pleased to announce the 2019 finalists for the Charles Rufus Morey Book Award and two Alfred H. Barr Jr. Awards. The winners of the three prizes, along with the recipients of other Awards for Distinction, will be announced in January 2019 and presented during Convocation in conjunction with CAA’s 107th Annual Conference, taking place in New York, February 13-16, 2019.

Charles Rufus Morey Book Award

Zeynep Çelik Alexander, Kinaesthetic Knowing: Aesthetics, Epistemology, Modern Design (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017)

Olga Bush, Reframing the Alhambra: Architecture, Poetry, Textiles and Court Ceremonial (Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2018)

Linda Kim, Race ExpertsSculptureAnthropology, and the American Public in Malvina Hoffman’s Races of Mankind (Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2018)

Carolyn Yerkes, Drawing after Architecture (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2017)

Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award

Christophe Cherix, Cornelia Butler, and David Platzker, Adrian Piper: A Synthesis of Intuitions 1965-2016 (New York: Museum of Modern Art, 2018)

Jeffrey Spier and Timothy Potts, Beyond the Nile: Egypt and the Classical World (Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Trust, 2018)

Naoko Takahatake and Jonathan Bober, The Chiaroscuro Woodcut in Renaissance Italy (Los Angeles: Los Angeles County Museum of Art, 2018)

Cecilia Fajardo-Hill and Andrea Giunta, Radical Women:  Latin American Art, 1960-1985 (Los Angeles : Hammer Museum, University of California, 2017)

Wendy Kaplan, Design in California and Mexico 1915-1985: Found in Translation (Los Angeles: Los Angeles County Museum of Art, 2017)

Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, and Exhibitions

Antonio Sergio Bessa and Jessamyn Fiore, Gordon Matta-Clark: Anarchitect (New York: The Bronx Museum of Art, 2017)

Andrew C. Weislogel and Andaleeb Badiee Banta, Lines of Inquiry: Learning from Rembrandt’s Etchings (Ithaca: Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University, 2017)

Mark Sloan, Fahamu Pecou: Visible Man (Charleston, SC: Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art, 2016)

Patrick Arthur Polk, Axe Bahia: The Power of Art in an Afro-Brazilian Metropolis (Los Angeles: Fowler Museum at UCLA, 2018)

The presentation of the 2019 Awards for Distinction will take place on Wednesday evening, February 13, 2019 from 6-7:30pm in the Grand Ballroom East at the New York Hilton Midtown. The event is free and open to the public. For more information about CAA’s Awards for Distinction, please contact

Filed under: Awards, Books