CAA News Today

The upcoming Annual Conference this winter and spring will feature a number of sessions that discuss issues related to pedagogy, education, and professional development. See below for links to explore these topics in the conference schedule, as well as a selection of sessions.

Note: As of January 7, all in-person sessions and activities scheduled for February 16-19 in Chicago are now virtual on the same dates. Virtual sessions and activities scheduled for March 3-5 will remain the same. This change will allow for more access and engagement, regardless of location.

See the rest of this year’s conference schedule online! Register for CAA’s upcoming conference and learn more at our registration page. After you register, sign into the app and create your own custom schedule using the tools and filtering options on the side (switch time zones in the upper left of the app: CST for in-person and your own time zone for virtual).

Selection:
Pedagogy Sessions, February 17-19

Teaching Longform Scholarship in a Shortform World
Saturday, February 19, 2022, 11:00 PM – 12:30 PM CST

Post-Pandemic Reflections: Making Change in the Studio and Art History Classroom
Thursday, February 17, 2022, 11:00 PM – 12:30 PM CST

Creative Practice as Pedagogical Practice III
Friday, February 18, 2022, 9:00 AM – 10:30 AM CST

Pedagogy Sessions, March 3-5

Centering Latina/x & Chicana/x Art Pedagogies
Friday, March 4, 2022, 4:30 PM – 6:00 PM CST (5:30 – 7:00 PM EST)

Revisioning Pedagogical Practices through Ecoart: Provocations
Friday, March 4, 2022, 4:30 PM – 6:00 PM CST (5:30 – 7:00 PM EST)

F.A.T.E. Affiliate Session: Strategies for Inclusive Studio Art Pedagogy
Saturday, March 5, 2022, 12:00 PM – 1:30 PM CST (1:00 PM – 2:30 PM EST)

 


Selection:
Pedagogy Sessions, February 17-19

Post-Pandemic Reflections: Making Change in the Studio and Art History Classroom
Thursday, February 17, 2022, 11:00 PM – 12:30 PM CST

How to Get Published
Friday, February 18, 2022, 4:30 PM – 6:00 PM CST

Professional Practice: Hard and Soft Skills
Saturday, February 19, 2022, 2:30 PM – 4:00 PM CST

 


Selection:
Museum Education Sessions, March 3-5

New Age of Teaching the Art of the Islamic World
Saturday, March 5, 2022, 9:00 AM – 10:30 AM CST (10:00 AM – 11:30 AM EST)

Reconsidering Art History Through Access
Saturday, March 5, 2022, 9:00 AM – 10:30 AM CST (10:00 AM – 11:30 AM EST)

New Perspectives in Art, Design, and Art History: Supporting and Showcasing Emerging Voices from Marginalized Communities
Saturday, March 5, 2022, 2:30 PM – 4:00 PM CST (3:30 PM – 5:00 PM EST)

 


ACLS recently share a list of professional development resources for K-21 education opportunities:

New York State Association of Independent Schools Virtual Job Fair to Promote Diversity

Association of Independent Schools of New England Careers

California Association of Independent Schools Careers

Independent Schools Association of the Central States Careers

National Association of Independent School Careers

New Jersey Association of Independent Schools Careers

New York State Association of Independent Schools Careers

SchoolSpring (Public School Teaching Careers)

The Association of Boarding Schools Careers

The New Teacher Project

Filed under: Annual Conference