Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

Finalists for the 2022 Morey and Barr Awards

posted by CAA — Jan 03, 2022

CAA is pleased to announce the 2022 finalists for the Charles Rufus Morey Book Award and the two Alfred H. Barr Jr. Awards. The winners of the three prizes, along with the recipients of other Awards for Distinction, will be announced in January 2022 and presented during Convocation in conjunction with CAA’s 110th Annual Conference, February 16–19, 2022. 


Charles Rufus Morey Book Award Shortlist, 2022 

Monica Bravo, Greater American Camera: Making Modernism in Mexico, Yale University Press, 2021 

Elina Gertsman, The Absent Image: Lacunae in Medieval Books, Penn State University Press, 2021

Dipti Khera, The Place of Many Moods: Udaipur’s Painted Lands and India’s Eighteenth Century, Princeton University Press, 2020

Susanna P. Newbury, The Speculative City: Art, Real Estate, and the Making of Global Los Angeles, University of Minnesota Press, 2021


Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award Shortlist, 2022 

Carmen Ramos, ¡Printing the Revolution!: The Rise and Impact of Chicano Graphics, 1965 to Now, Princeton University Press, 2020

Sarah Fee, Cloth that Changed the World: The Art and Fashion of Indian Chintz, Yale University Press, 2020

Dorothy Moss, Hung Liu: Portraits of Promised Lands, Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery, 2021

Sarah Roberts and Katy Siegel, Joan Mitchell, Yale University Press, 2021

Andrea Nelson with Elizabeth Cronin, Mia Fineman, Mila Ganeva, Kristen Gresh, Elizabeth Otto, Kim Sichel, The New Woman Behind the Camera, DelMonico Books, 2020

Julia Griffin and Andrzej Szczerski, editors, Young Poland: The Polish Arts and Crafts Movement, 1890–1918, Lund Humphries, 2020


Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, and Exhibitions Shortlist, 2022 

Nadezhda Kavrus-Hoffmann with the collaboration of Pablo Alvarez, A Catalogue of Greek Manuscripts at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, University of Michigan Press, 2021

Julie L. McGee, David Driskell: Icons of Nature and History, Rizzoli, 2021

Sarah M. Miller, Documentary in Dispute. The Original Manuscript of Changing New York by Berenice Abbott and Elizabeth McCausland, Ryerson Image Centre/MIT Press, 2020

Elizabeth Finch; Marshall N. Price; Graham Bader; Scott Manning Stevens; Ruth Fine,  Roy Lichtenstein: History in the Making, 1948-1960, Rizzoli, 2020

David S. Areford, Strict Beauty: Sol LeWitt Prints, Yale University Press, 2020

Tameka Ellington & Joseph Underwood, TEXTURES: The History and Art of Black Hair, Hirmer Publishers / University of Chicago Press, 2022

Filed under: Awards