CAA News Today

Digital Humanities at the 110th Annual Conference

posted by CAA — Feb 03, 2022

The upcoming Annual Conference this winter and spring will feature a number of sessions that discuss issues related to the digital humanities and art. See below for links to explore sessions that relate to these topics in the conference schedule.

See the rest of this year’s conference schedule online! Register for CAA’s upcoming conference and learn more at our registration page. After you register, sign into the app and create your own custom schedule using the tools and filtering options on the side (switch time zones in the upper left of the app: CST for in-person and your own time zone for virtual).


 

Sessions on Digital Humanities

 

Critical Cataloging Conversations in Teaching, Research, and Practice
VISUAL RESOURCES ASSOCIATION (VRA)
Friday, February 18, 2022
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CST (12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EST)
Bridget Madden, University of Chicago

Dismantling the Patriarchal Canon: Foregrounding Women Artists and Patrons through Digital Art History
DIGITAL ART HISTORY SOCIETY
Friday, March 4, 2022
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CST (12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EST)
Tracy Chapman Hamilton
Dana Hogan, Duke University
Mariah Proctor-Tiffany, California State University, Long Beach

Archival Imaginaries and Futurities in Contemporary Art from SWANA
Saturday, February 19, 2022
4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. CST (5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. EST)
Lara Fresko Madra, Cornell University
Kareem Estefan, Brown University

New frontiers: creating, collecting, preserving and displaying digital based art of Russia and Eastern Europe
Saturday, February 19, 2022
4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. CST (5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. EST)
Natalia Kolodzei, Kolodzei Art Foundation

The Living Catalogue Raisonné
CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ SCHOLARS ASSOCIATION
Saturday, February 19, 2022
9:00 a.m.– 10:30 a.m. CST (10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EST)
Joan Pachner
Marin R Sullivan, Sculptural Things


 

Sessions on Digital Media

 

Digital Realms in Practice
Thursday, February 17, 2022
4:30 p.m.- 6:00 p.m. CST (5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. EST)

Diverse Resources for New Media
Thursday, February 17, 2022
4:30 p.m.- 6:00 p.m. CST (5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. EST)
Nadav Assor, Connecticut College

New frontiers: creating, collecting, preserving and displaying digital based art of Russia and Eastern Europe
Saturday, February 19, 2022
4:30 p.m.- 6:00 p.m. CST (5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. EST)
Natalia Kolodzei
Kolodzei Art Foundation

Making Media Social: An Examination of Video and Television in the History of Political Activism of the 1970s
Thursday, February 17, 2022
9:00 a.m.– 10:30 a.m. CST (10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EST)
Corinna Kirsch, Stony Brook University
Brock Lownes, Stony Brook University

The Problem of Mapping Social Justice On The Social (Creative) Body In an Era Of NFT’s
Saturday, March 5, 2022
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CST (12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EST)
Gale Elston, CUNY

(inappropriate) digital intimacies
Saturday, March 5, 2022
2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. CST (3:30 p.m. – 5 p.m. EST)
Francesca Balboni, University of Texas at Austin

Filed under: Annual Conference