Annual Conference 2024                                           Donate Now
Join Now      Sign In

CAA News Today

CAA invites all members to cast their vote in the current Board of Directors election. Voting ends on Friday, February 12, at 5:00 PM CST. The following six candidates have been chosen by the 2009 Nominating Committee for the current slate:

Please click on each candidate’s name above to read his or her statement and biography—and to watch their special video introductions—before casting your vote for up to four candidates.

About the Election

CAA members may vote for no more than four candidates or may cast votes for write-in candidates (who must be CAA members). The four candidates receiving the most votes will be elected to the board. CAA members may cast their votes and submit their proxies by mail or electronically.

Election results are announced at the close of the Annual Members’ Business Meeting at the Chicago conference, and new board members take office in the spring.

If you have requested your ballot on paper, a ballot and proxy were mailed to you in mid-December. Return them via post by Friday, February 12, 2010, at 5:00 PM CST.

If you have elected to vote online, you have received email notices since mid-December with instructions for voting online. This emails include a PIN for you to vote and to return your proxy. All online voting must be completed by Friday, February 12, 2010, at 5:00 PM CST. If you wish to vote during the conference, CAA is providing a computer for online voting in the registration area.

If you are still receiving your ballot and proxy by postal mail, kindly change your email communication status to “vote online” in the Account Log In section of the CAA website. Voting online is considerably less expensive, and in these difficult economic times it is critical for CAA to save costs where it can.

About the Board

The CAA Board of Directors is responsible for all financial and policy matters related to the organization. It promotes excellence in scholarship and teaching in the history and criticism of the visual arts, and it encourages creativity and technical skill in the teaching and practice of art. CAA’s board is also charged with representing the membership on issues affecting the visual arts and humanities.

2009 Nominating Committee

Members of the 2009 Nominating Committee are: Mary-Ann Milford-Lutzker, Mills College, vice president for committees and committee chair (ex officio without vote); Jacki Apple, Art Center College of Design; Linda Downs, CAA executive director (ex officio, without vote); Ken Gonzales-Day, Scripps College and CAA board; James Hopfensperger, Western Michigan University; Suzanne McCullagh, Art Institute of Chicago; Edward M. Noriega, Troy University and CAA board; William Wallace, Washington University in St. Louis and CAA board; and Charles A. Wright, Western Illinois University.

Filed under: Board of Directors, Governance